Wimbledon 2014 Tennis Schedule: Start Date For Next ATP Major After Rafael Nadal Wins French Open

  • Print This Article
Jun 08, 2014 02:51 PM EDT
Rafael Nadal of Spain
Rafael Nadal of Spain attends the trophy ceremony after defeating Novak Djokovic of Serbia during their men's singles final match to win the French Open Tennis tournament at the Roland Garros stadium in Paris June 8, 2014."

The next major on the ATP Tennis schedule is Wimbledon 2014 and that comes after Rafael Nadal won the French Open at Roland Garros against Novak Djokovic for the ninth time in his career and now the tournament in England starts up on June 23 and runs through July 26 and that will be very anticipated for players like Nadal, Djokovic, Serena Williams, Li Na, Andy Murray and champion Maria Sharapova.

Wimbledon comes very quick after the French Open and that comes after the long break from the Australian Open into the next major and now the clay season will move into the grass for a quick moment. Nadal could be a bit fatigued at Wimbledon after making a run to the Australian Open finals and then winning at Roland Garros again, but either way he will still be one of the favorites at the tournament. Nadal won in four sets against Djokovic to improve to 66-1 at the tournament and he now has won five French Open titles in a row and that is the first time that has ever happened.m

The schedule has the ATP Topshelf Open from the Netherlands next week and at the same time will be the ATP AEGON International tournament from Eastbourne England and that comes ahead of Wimbledon. The US Open doesn't start until August 25 and that runs through September 8 and will have the hard court season coming before that. Djokovic had dominated Nadal on clay and overall coming into the French Open despite being down in the overall head to head matchup and now he has once again been unable to defeat him at the French. The two faced off in an epic semifinals last year and played in the finals the year before that and now Nadal has won his ninth title at Roland Garros.

Nadal and Maria Sharapova won the championship at Roland Garros this year and Sharapova replaced Serena Williams, who was upset early, while Nadal repeated his title, winning over Djokovic this year after beating David Ferrer last year. Nadal started off slow and lost the first set, but he bounced back and took the second set 7-5 and then dominated in the third 6-2 before powering his way past a frustrated Djokovic in the final set.

Djokovic was looking to win his first ever French Open title and he has lost again to Nadal, who has continued his record pace at Roland Garros. Nadal only dropped one set coming into the final and that was against Ferrer in the quarters and he had lost the last four times playing against Djokovic and now he has this trophy over him again. Nadal's run at the French has been unmatched by basically anyone and he has lost only one time there over his career and now he has 14 slams in his professional career.

Check here for the Wimbledon and ATP Tennis schedule.

Get the Most Popular Stories in a Weekly Newsletter
© 2015 Sportsworldreport.com All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.
  • Print This Article

Join the Conversation

  • Get Connected
  • Share
  • Like Us on Facebook
  • @sportswr
  • Recommend on Google
Real Time Analytics