MLB All-Star Game Starters: Matt Harvey For NL and Max Scherzer For AL As NY Mets Star At Home In Citi Field, Full Lineups With Chris Davis, Mike Trout and David Wright

  • Print This Article
Jul 15, 2013 02:58 PM EDT
New York Mets starting pitcher Matt Harvey
New York Mets starting pitcher Matt Harvey throws a pitch to the Arizona Diamondbacks in the first inning of their MLB National League game at CitiField in New York, July 3."

The MLB All-Star break is here and that means the game on Tuesday is the only baseball fans will get to see for a week and as the Midsummer Classic comes to Citi Field, a familiar starting pitcher will be on the mound with Matt Harvey.

According to, National League manager Bruce Bochy has named the Mets pitcher the starter for the All-Star game on Tuesday and he will fit right at home in his own ball park, as Citi Field is hosting the main event. Harvey will be the first pitcher in nine years to start in his own home park, while Tigers manager Jim Leyland selected his own player in Max Scherzer to start for the American League in the game. The report says that the last time it happened like with Harvey was in 2004 when Roger Clemens started in Houston.

Harvey has been dynamic in his first full season in the majors and at just the age of 24 he has a 2.55 ERA and league-leading 147 strikeouts and he got the nod over Clayton Kershaw, who is leading the NL with a sub-2.00 ERA and 139 Ks. Harvey is first in a number of categories in the league, including first in strikeouts (147), second in WHIP (0.91) and third in ERA (2.35) and opponent batting average (.196).

Scherzer is 13-1 on the season with a 3.19 ERA and 152 strikeouts and Harvey will come into the game after skipping over his last start. Here is the lineup from ESPN:

The NL will have Cincinnati second baseman Brandon Phillips leading off, followed by St. Louis right fielder Carlos Beltran, Reds first baseman Joey Votto and Mets third baseman David Wright. Colorado left fielder Carlos Gonzalez, will anchor the bottom of the NL lineup, followed by Cardinals catcher Yadier Molina, Rockies shortstop Troy Tulowitzki, Colorado designated hitter Michael Cuddyer and Washington center fielder Bryce Harper.

The AL will have the Los Angeles Angels' Mike Trout in left field and leading off, followed by New York Yankees second baseman Robinson Cano, Detroit third baseman Miguel Cabrera, Baltimore first baseman Chris Davis, Toronto right fielder Jose Bautista, Boston designated hitter David Ortiz, Orioles center fielder Adam Jones, Minnesota catcher Joe Mauer and Baltimore shortstop J.J. Hardy.

Get the Most Popular Stories in a Weekly Newsletter
© 2015 All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.
  • Print This Article

Join the Conversation

  • Get Connected
  • Share
  • Like Us on Facebook
  • @sportswr
  • Recommend on Google
Real Time Analytics